Visting Mexico with a child with allergies

Dealing with a child's allergies

A while back, we traveled internationally, visiting Mexico. This was our 3rd year taking our child with allergies on a vacation out of the country. Morgan has allergies (including nuts, peanuts, eggs, legumes, soy, oats, dairy, sesame, sunflower, citrus, shellfish, fish.) Similar to prior years, I packed one suitcase of frozen foods and one suitcase of food staples as well as a toaster oven. Between the two suitcases, I had her breakfast, lunch and dinner for 8 days. I also traveled with a mattress dust protector, pillow dust protectors, sheets, towels and blankets since my child also has a number of environmental allergies. Of course, I also travel with all of her medications.

Some friends and colleagues wonder why I go to so much trouble and I know many parents of children with allergies who will not travel with their child because it’s too scary. I understand all of that…

View original post 620 more words

Leave a Reply

